Terrorism threat levels

The threat level indicates the likelihood of a terrorist attack in the UK.

Threat levels

There are 5 levels of threat:

  • low - an attack is unlikely
  • moderate - an attack is possible but not likely
  • substantial - an attack is a strong possibility
  • severe - an attack is highly likely
  • critical - an attack is expected imminently

The level is set by the Joint Terrorism Analysis Centre and the Security Service (MI5).

Threat levels don’t have an expiry date. They can change at any time as different information becomes available to security agents.

More information about terrorist threat levels

Get more information about terrorism threat levels in the UK on the MI5 website.

You can also check the government’s travel advice for different countries.

International threats

The threat to the UK (England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland) from international terrorism is severe.

Northern Ireland-related threats

The threat to Great Britain (England, Wales and Scotland) from Northern Ireland-related terrorism is moderate.

The threat to Northern Ireland from Northern Ireland-related terrorism is severe.

Please note that whilst we will endeavour to update the UK Threat Level on the website as often as we can, for the most up to date information please refer to the MI5 Website.