Blaenau Gwent Wards

Blaenau Gwent is a place of heritage and dramatic change, with a sense of its past but its eyes firmly on the future.

Covering an area of approximately 10,900 hectares and with a population of 68,400, Blaenau Gwent is divided into 16 political wards, represented by 42 elected members.

Blaenau Gwent is defined physically by the beautifully desolate mountain tops which divide and watch over its vibrant, bustling valleys. The three main rivers, the Sirhowy, the Ebbw and the Tillery, slip south through towns and villages which, to the untutored eye, often seem to merge together into one. Make no mistake, however - each community proudly maintains its own character and traditions.